Buried in the Country : Cornish Mystery

  • by Carola Dunn
  • Narrated by Wanda McCaddon
  • Series: Cornish Mystery
  • 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After many years working around the world for an international charity in the late 1960s, Eleanor Trewynn has retired to the relative quiet of a small town in Cornwall. But her quiet life is short-lived when, due to her experience, the Commonwealth Relations Office reaches out to her to assist in a secret conference that is to take place in a small hotel outside the historical village of Tintagel.
Meanwhile, her niece, Detective Sergeant Megan Pencarrow, is investigating the disappearance of a local solicitor when she is assigned to help provide security for the conference. Two African students, refugees from Ian Smith's Rhodesia, arrive for the conference, escorted by Megan's bĂȘte noire from Scotland Yard. They are followed by two mysterious and sinister Londoners, whose allegiances and connections to the conference and the missing solicitor are unclear. With a raging storm having trapped everyone in the hotel, the stage is set for murder, and it's up to Eleanor and Megan to uncover the truth before more lives are lost.


What the Critics Say

"[Narrator Wanda] McCaddon is a master at delivering the multiple accents of the diverse characters - from London hooligans to African college students. McCaddon delivers the perfect leisurely paced cozy..." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very slow

I really enjoyed the first two books in this series. This one moved very slowly. There are endless descriptive narrative of scenarios and interior decor. The climatic chase scene took several chapters as the reader is treated to description of flora and fauna and terrain and fog on the moors. I found my self skipping chapters only to find the story had not moved forward. I like the characters. The mystery in this one was weak, relying scenic prose to carry story.
Read full review

- Ms Peach

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-24-2017
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.