Brute Force : Nick Stone

  • by Andy McNab
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas
  • Series: Nick Stone
  • 3 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Days after his car erupts in a ball of flame, Nick Stone narrowly cheats death a second time when a gunman opens fire on him from the back of a motorcycle. Who knows his movements? Who wants him dead, and why? Stone's only chance of survival is to carry the fight to his attackers - but first he must uncover a trail of clues that leads from his own dark and complex past into the heart of a chilling conspiracy that threatens us all... Nick Stone's 11th adventure is McNab at his explosive best.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

McNab's "Brute Force" is rubbish!!!

I was a fan of McNab's Nick Stone series. So when "Brute force" was released, I was keen to read the latest Nick Stone thriller.

I bought "Brute Force" on Audible, but later received the hardcover as gift. I decided to read the book before listening to the audio. After reading the book, I regret buying the audio.

This book is rubbish; the average chapter length is no more than 5 pages. Facts not being checked by the author/editor is illustrated by the following: The main character, Nick Stone, ends up in the Libyan Desert driving an automatic shift Audi Q7, however two chapters later, during a shoot out, the Q7 conveniently `develops' a clutch pedal (which is only possible in a manual shift vehicle)! Mr. McNab, whatever happened to that JB7 and boulder used to block the road? How did it conveniently disappear?

Generally the plot is weak, and re-hash of facts made obvious in all previous books and painstakingly repeated here, which to me, seems like 'padding'. The book seems more like a poorly contrived plot to meet a publisher's deadline or contractual obligation. I reached a point, where I believe that the Nick Stone character has outlived its 'sell by' date. Because McNab starts introducing 'past' facts that were not evident in earlier series, assuming the author wants to maintain that each story is a sequel (since some parts of the story refers to previous adventures)

I wonder who is more stupid, the author for not knowing the difference or the editor/publisher for not realizing this hogwash? Or us readers, for being duped into buying such rubbish? I hope McNab returns to his old style and writes decent stories.
Read full review

- Jaiandra

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-04-2008
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks