Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What secret could destroy the world and…would you let it out?
"Dean Kutzler's Brownstone is a tense thriller, wrapping history, religious fervor and ever-present danger in a cloak of psychological suspense. It will have you turning pages deep into the night." - Graham Brown - bestselling author of The Eden Prophecy
The key to the world's fate discovers a devastating secret that has been divinely hidden since the days of Genesis. As the centuries passed, what was once common knowledge of our ancient origins became purposefully hidden within the lies of clergy.
Jack Elliot - a journalist, living in Montréal - returns to his hometown of New York City to pay respect to his dying uncle. Jack soon learns foul play is at hand when he finally gets to visit dear Uncle Terry. The poor man has had a severe stroke, and, is struggling to talk to his favorite nephew.
Or, at least, that, is what Jack thinks.
Uncle Terry wasn't struggling to talk to Jack, and, what happens next, sends Jack spiraling down a web of mystery. He gets more than he bargained for, on his trip home, when he finds himself entrenched in not one, but, two, murder cases, where he's the prime suspect.
What Jack doesn't know is that amidst all the murder, an organization created at the beginning of time has been patiently waiting for him to...ripen! They have big plans for Jack in this mystery and suspense filled book - plans that are tied back to the very beginning of mankind - and, if they find him, the world will be immeasurably changed most certainly not for the better.
Brownstone is loaded with plot twist and resonates heavily with such thriller books in the tradition of James Rollins and Sigma Force, Dan Brown and the Robert Langdon Series, and Clive Cussler with the Dirk Pitt Adventures. Brownstone challenges the very core beliefs each of us holds, deep down inside, questioning the very fabric of our existence.
©2014 Dean Kutzler (P)2017 Dean Kutzler
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Ms. Christian C. on 02-20-17

Well-crafted and thought-provoking.

For readers who enjoyed "The Da Vinci Code,"  Brownstone is sure to delight. Jack Elliott is a journalist who unwittingly becomes the target of an ancient covert religious order. Tripping through present-day New York City, he uncovers evidence of a centuries-old coverup that could rock the foundations of Christianity. He also learns of dark family secrets which cause him to question many of his beliefs. And all the while, he's being hunted down like prey.

The beginning moved a little slowly for my taste, but it picked up speed before midway through. The ending left me feeling satisfied, whilst setting the stage for the next installment (which I'm yearning to begin). Narrator, Tom Lennon, does a marvelous job here. There were a couple of mispronounced words (such as "carotid"), but in no way did they affect the context or my understanding of the story. I increased the narration speed to 1.05%. Overall, very well done!

I received a promotional copy of this audiobook for free in exchange for an unbiased review. Many thanks to the narrator for this opportunity!

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful


By Muraenidae on 03-13-17

Jack and the Bene Elohim

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?
Probably not, but only because the mystery books I like my friends often don’t. Everyone is comparing this to Dan Brown’s book and while I did read that, I did it begrudgingly. I would be more inclined to recommend this book over “The Da Vinci Code.”

Who was your favorite character and why?
Harold the cabbie. He just seemed like what I would expect a typical cabbie to be. Enjoyed their drive time banter and the rest of their interactions.

Who was your least character and why?
Moe. I assume he is a grown adult and said cray cray. I cannot stand that word.

What about Tom Lennon’s performance did you like?
I enjoyed his voice and thought his cadence and tone was good for the story. I did notice that he mispronounced a few words which bothered me. Every now and then I thought someone else was narrating the story so he had some accents that totally threw me off which was a nice bonus.

Any additional comments?
I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Doug Monk on 02-27-17

More twists than fusilli pasta!!

Any additional comments?

First of all I have to say the following:
This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.
Now I have that out the way,I can tell you that I found this to be a well written and an exciting read that had me hooked from the start. If you're a fan of Sam Bourne, Dan Brown or Steve Berry then this book is right up your street. Set against the backdrop of modern day New York, this fast paced biblical conspirisy thriller will take you on a twisting turning journey before revealing the final - and biggest plot twist of all!
Brownstone was more than ably narrated by the excellent Tom Lennon and I can honestly say I'm very much looking forward to reading the rest of the upcoming series.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc