Bred in the Bone : Jasmine Sharp & Detective Catherine McLeod

  • by Christopher Brookmyre
  • Narrated by Hilary McLean
  • Series: Jasmine Sharp & Detective Catherine McLeod
  • 12 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bred in the Bone is the stunning third novel in Brookmyre’s series featuring private investigator Jasmine Sharp and Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod. Set in the disturbing underworld of Glasgow - a place where countless old scores are still waiting to be settled, and where everyone knows everyone else - Bred in the Bone is a masterful mystery novel that will appeal to fans of Denise Mina, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin.
Private investigator Jasmine Sharp's father was murdered before she was born, and her mother went to self-sacrificing lengths in order to shield her from the world in which he moved. Since her mother's death, all she has been able to learn is his first name - and that only through a strange bond she has forged with the man who killed him: Glen Fallan. But when Fallan is arrested for the murder of a criminal her mother knew since childhood, Jasmine is finally forced to enter his domain: A place where violence is a way of life and vengeance spans generations.
Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod has one major Glaswegian gangster in the mortuary and another in the cells for killing him - which ought to be cause for celebration. Catherine is not smiling, however. From the moment she discovered a symbol daubed on the victim's head, she has understood that this case is far more dangerous than it appears on the surface, something that could threaten her family and end her career. As one battles her demons and the other chases her ghosts, these two very different detectives will ultimately confront the secrets that have entangled both of their fates since before Jasmine was even born.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I hate when I finish a series

Can't wait for another book, great story. Character development continues bringing Catherine a little more personality and depth. Warming her up a little. A little more violence, but still way down for today's standards.

I don't want to give anything away so I'm not saying much. I like that even though it deals with violence and serious stuff, the story never becomes moody or gloomy. Serious, sometimes a little sad, but also spots of humor, like real life. Not swedish gloom noir.

I hated to reach the end.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer "I don't know about you, but why are there so so so many 5 star reviews. I LOVE books, but so few are 5 star."

One of my favorite authors!

What made the experience of listening to Bred in the Bone the most enjoyable?

Christopher Brookmyre's characters are never dull. His dialogue is wonderful and I love the little details in his books that make them seem real. He writes normal people in abnormal circumstances flaws and all. Even if the story is a dark one, the wicked sense of humor that this author has always comes through. I laugh out loud when I read his books.

Which scene was your favorite?

There are too many great ones in this book to pick just one. Besides, I don't want to give anything away.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me laugh many times. The author has a talent for making people see the amusing side of even the darkest moments.

Any additional comments?

I am thrilled that Mr. Brookmyre's books are becoming more available in the US. It was difficult to locate the audiobooks for his earlier works.

Read full review

- GW "I enjoy mysteries, science fiction, Stephen King, and some fantasy novels. Now and again I like a biography and a bit of history. No romance!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios