Blue Lightning: A Thriller : Shetland Island

  • by Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by Gordon Griffin
  • Series: Shetland Island
  • 10 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Inspector Jimmy Perez takes his fiance home to Fair Isle, the tiny island he comes from, to meet his parents. The island is a magnet for bird watchers, who congregate at the local inn and lighthouse. When a local married celebrity who had an eye for the lads is murdered, Perez discovers that the suspects are very close to him indeed.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Totally unput-down-able! More please!

Any additional comments?

I was first introduced to Anne Cleeves' Shetland series via the BBC's televised series, which I loved. The books are much much better and beautifully read by Gordon Griffin. The mystery remained whole until the last fifteen minutes and I would have never guessed the identity of the culprit. But added to the suspense, there is the unfolding of Jimmy Perez, the main detective's, new romance with Fran, as well as the wonderful sense of place and an introduction to the Shetland Island's customs. I thoroughly recommend this audiobook.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer "parissa_nahani"

emPHASis on wrong sylABle.

Where does Blue Lightning: A Thriller rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

My opinion of the story is not unbiased, as I read these out of order, thus knew an important part of the story line in advance. Though I love Ann Cleeves books and Jimmy Perez mysteries.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Gordon Griffin?

Someone who pays attention to what they're reading, and doesn't. End the sentence. Before it's finished. And knows where to place the emphasis. And doesn't turn a declarative sentence into a question? With! Inappriate! Exclamations! interspersed arbitrarily. It's as if he was reading words completely out of context. I played the book at1.25 speed setting, and still there were long unnecessary pauses.

Read full review

- Judy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2015
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio