• Blood Truth

  • The Rick Cahill Series
  • By: Matt Coyle
  • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
  • Series: Rick Cahill, Book 4
  • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 01-09-18
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.4 (20 ratings)

Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A hard-boiled PI novel for fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, and Dashiell Hammett.
Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood - the blood of his father coursing through his veins.
When a long-hidden safe unlocks clues about why his father was kicked off the police force 27 years ago and then spiraled into an early drunken death, Rick determines to find the truth, even if it proves the one thing he's always feared.
But as he grapples with his father's past, the woman he still loves pleads with him to find out if her husband is having an affair - or is involved in something much more sinister. Could the truth send her back into Rick’s arms? Would he have a last shot at happiness? He may never get the chance to find out, as killers who will do anything to protect their secrets lurk in the shadows.
©2017 Matt Coyle (P)2017 Matt Coyle
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Lia on 01-28-18

A Great Story With Lots Of Action

This is my first Matt Cole book and I am so impressed with the book I have already purchased the first book of the series. Storytelling is a skill and Coyle has got it. This book is one that is easy to get into and keeps you interested till the end.
It’s a story about bitterness and dying inside day by day. Its a story about wondering who your father really was inside and what the clues about him really mean. Was a hero or a crook? It’s a story about swindlers, cheats, and conspiracies. It’s a private eye story set in the modern age in San Diego and La Jolla with many of the traditional moorings such as a lone wolf st odds with the local police, run ins with the local scion of wealth, and mobsters hovering in the background. A lot of fun to listen.

I was given a free copy of this book for an honest and unbiased review.

Travis Baldree was outstanding with the delivery story.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Karen M. on 02-13-18

Action-Packed Mystery

Blood Truth is Book 4 in the Rick Cahill Series but can easily be enjoyed as a standalone. With lots of action and two great storylines, I was hooked from the beginning. Terrific writing and interesting characters made the 10+ hours fly by. Secrets from the past will finally be revealed, as well as those of his ex-girlfriend's husband. But what will Rick do with the information?

Another highlight of this story was the outstanding narration of Travis Baldree. He did a wonderful job of drawing me in and holding my interest throughout. Blood Truth was a great listening experience and I would recommend it.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. This review is my honest opinion.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Norma Miles on 03-02-18

Even mo than the truth.

Rick's father had been a cop for 22 years, respected by all and loved and admired by his son. Until suddenly, after the killing of a man named Phelps, a murder still unsolved 28 years later, Charlie Cahill was suspected of being dirty, of taking mob money, and dismissed from the force. He turned to drink, his wife left him, and he spiralled downwards to die an alcoholic just 8 years later. By then the respect that Rick had held for him was gone. His father had not lived by the code that he'd preached.

The discovery of an old hidden safe in the house they had lived in revealed a gun, a key to a bank safe deposit box and an envelope containing fifteen thousand dollars. For Rick it was the final proof that the rumours were true - his dad had been dirty. But why had he not touched the money even when the family had struggled so hard to make ends meet? He wished the revived memories would go away.
Then a new job, the usual, following a man whose wife thinks he is cheating on her. But it isn't quite a normal case - the wife is Kim who he had loved and lost. And it looked as if Kim's husband was guilty as expected, disappearing for 90 minutes into an hotel room with Sophie, a rather beautiful woman. Photos were taken, results shown to Kim. But there was more going on than simple infidelity

This exciting and well constructed book alternates with action and then quieter, more introspective periods, just long enough for the reader to catch their breath before one again p!unging into the set and furious. The characterisations are good, three dimensional, and Rick himself could walk off the page and mingle, a fully fledged real person. He's clever at what he does but not infallible, pleasant enough but it really nice and his past is still influencing him, both the good and the bad. A loner, with a touch of the loser.

Rick is beautifully interpreted by narrator, Travis Baldree. His voice, slightly downbeat and noir, has perfect pacing and is a pleasure to hear, well modulated, conveying quietly the full emotional impact of the story. Other protagonist voices are also distinctive and appropriate. His performance carries the book forward, adding to the already good story.

My thanks to the rights holder of Blood Truth who, at my request, gifted me with a complimentary copy via Audiobook Boom. This is the second book that I have read in the Rick Cohill series, but stands alone, no previous readings necessary. However, I will certainly be looking out for more books by author Matt Coyle and, hopefully Mr.Baldree, and i have no hesitation in recommending this book to anyone who enjoys a good detective based mystery thriller, full of action but not at the expense of story, peopled by well constructed believable characters.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Tim Dearing on 01-27-18

Great story, really well read

The style of the narration and story was that of a traditional 1920's private investigator and although this could come across as a bit "cheesy" it was great. it was very entertaining and i would always look forward to driving to work to listen to the next part.
Well worth a listen....who doesn't like a little bit of cheese every now and again...

This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc