Blink

  • by K. L. Slater
  • Narrated by Lucy Price-Lewis
  • 8 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Three years ago Toni's five-year-old daughter, Evie, disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.
But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself - and a devastating truth.
Toni's mind is trapped in a world of silence. Her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible: she must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.
A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.
Please note that the last chapter of this audiobook was missing on release. This has been rectified and the full audio made available as of 28 February 2017.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Entertaining

Right up until the end, I enjoyed it, so I'll give 4 stars. To me, the journey is just as important as the destination, and I found that I enjoyed the story even if not the payoff so much. The end felt rushed and a little forced...like trying too hard for the big twist...only the big twist wasn't really that big. In order for the twist to work well for me, there has to be adequate foreshadowing and clues along the way for me to look back and think OMG, why didn't I see that?!!! The twists in this either came out of left field or were too obvious. One more nit, which is wrapped up with the big twist is that the villain explained themself. I hate that. It's such an overused and cliched device in mystery/thrillers that it has begun to throw me out of the story every time I come across it. I can suspend disbelief for a story if it's something fresh, but I cannot suspend disbelief that every villain always gets the opportunity to spill their guts at the moment they are caught out, giving away all of their motives and methods in one long vitriolic diatribe. I've stopped reading books at the end when it happens, it irks me so much. This particular villain's rant was so close to the very end that I went ahead and finished....which, again, the end was just so rushed and sloppy that it didn't take long. In short: worth the read if you, like me, are ok with being entertained for the duration of the story even when the end is weak.
Read full review

- Michelle Harder

I LOVE K.L. Slater!!

I have been listening to what I am 'hungry' for lately. Ever since I listened to my first K.L. Slater book, I have been hungry for more! LIAR actually shocked me- I honestly was clueless to how it would end- and Slater loves to confuse and surprise her readers. Blink is no exception to her pattern.

Slater's normal writing style introduces characters 'now' and 'years ago.' She writes from the beginning and the end, and solves the issues somewhere in the middle of the characters' story. The style is brilliant, and it takes the reader's (listener's) full concentration to piece things together. I love her style of writing and I daresay that she has officially become one of my favourite authors.

Blink is the story of a woman who is laying in a coma. We don't know why or how, or even who she is. The doctors are going to shut off her life support, but she can still hear them- she can't move to tell them. You'd think that would be exciting/heart racing enough of a story base, but Slater takes it 15 steps further. We learn all about what's happened to several women, from three years ago to the present- and eventually who the woman in the coma is and how she ties in with a child abduction.

This book kept me guessing. I couldn't wait to listen more. I devoured it and I loved it- this author has yet to disappoint me and I am addicted to her style.

-Wendi
Read full review

- Wendi

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-16-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios