Biblical: A Novel

  • by Christopher Galt
  • Narrated by Ray Porter
  • 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood comes this apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks, who will win?
A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts pour in from distant places: a French teenager claims to have witnessed Joan of Arc being burned at the stake; a man in New York dies of malnutrition in a luxurious Central Park apartment; a fundamentalist Christian sect kidnaps and murders a geneticist.
Then there is the graffiti We Are Becoming that has popped up in every major city around the world, in every language. And everywhere people are starting to talk about John Astor, the mysterious author of the book that seems to be at the center of it all.
After a rash of suicides around the world by individuals experiencing time-traveling hallucinations, psychiatrist John Macbeth and a team of FBI agents and scientists assemble to find out what's going on before it's too late. Is this a spiritual phenomenon - or something more sinister?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I so wanted to love this book!

You should never buy a new car model in its first year and you should not get an audiobook after reading only 1 review! However, I purchased this book firmly convinced I would love it. It sounded intriguing and had a wonderfully positive review.

And here's the thing. It has a very skilled narrator who did everything perfectly. And, I am sure, it is very well written, very intelligently thought out and researched, technologically oriented, and it is the type of science fiction I usually like. So, what went wrong?

Well, I am still trying to figure it out, so bear with me. As far as the characters, there were none I could identify with nor any I found interesting or especially likeable. Throughout the great majority of the book, extremely odd things were happening such as mass hallucinations. Lots of symptoms were presented with only vague hints of what might be the cause. I wasn't holding my breath in anticipation, nor was I invested enough to care very much. You could say that for me, this was not a nail-biter, and that might be an understatement!

Yet, I hung in there and kept listening whenever I could, as I was sure that when the great reveal came, it would be worth all the waiting. I figured the cause of the turmoil and possible destruction of the world would be mind-bending. It just wasn't mind bending and it came way too late, maybe the last chapter! I listened to that chapter over a couple of times to grasp what happened and realized this book just didn't do it for me.

So, this is how I come to be rating the book as middling, a book that has an excellent--no superb--narration, a book that shows off the author's writing skills and seems to be well thought out.
Read full review

- Kathy "Besides incessant listening to audiobooks, I also read on my Kindle at night, birdwatch, garden (roses, daylilies), and do genealogy."

Audio book of the year !

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Anyone, friend, family or foe! This is truly one of the best audio books I have ever heard. It's content, it's performance,and it's thoughtfulness are universal and moving.


Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes, I was not sure how it would resolve until the very end..if it actually resolves at all for that matter.


Which scene was your favorite?

No favourites, as it needs to be looked at as entire body of work.


If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

The name says it all, although it would likely be very controversial.


Any additional comments?

Ray Porter is stunning in this, and brings this brilliant book to life. I can't recommend it high enough. Get it, listen, and enjoy!

Read full review

- Matthew

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-26-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.