Behind the Lines : Corps

  • by W. E. B. Griffin
  • Narrated by Dick Hill
  • Series: Corps
  • 17 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

World War II. On the island of Mindanao, the Philippines, a man calling himself "General" Fertig has set himself up as a guerrilla leader to harass the Japanese. Army records show that the only officer named Fertig in the Philippines is a reserve lieutenant colonel of the Corps of Engineers, reported MIA on Luzon.Still, the reports filtering out are interesting, and it's Marine lieutenant Ken McCoy's mission to sneak behind the lines and find out if he's for real. With him is a motley group put together as a compromise between the warring factions of Douglas MacArthur and the OSS chief Bill Donovan.Together, these men will steal into the heart of enemy territory and there, amid firefights and jungle camps, encounter more than they had bargained for. Before they're done, each will undergo a test of his own personal mettle - with results that will surprise even the most hardened of them.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Maybe I misread the summary, but I thought the book would describe the actions of forces in the Philippines. However, it was more of a description of the back door politics of the military in Washington. If you want a history of the OSS it might be for you, but if you are looking for a war novel describing the action in WWII in the Pacific, you should look elswhere.
Read full review

- E. Gullett

Best Corps so far

What made the experience of listening to Behind the Lines the most enjoyable?

I've been to the Island of Mindanao

What did you like best about this story?

US forces in the Philippines

What about Dick Hill’s performance did you like?

The Voice is he uses. especially for general on the Philippines

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes Yes Yes

Any additional comments?

I really enjoy the W.E.B Griffin notes at the end of his books.

Read full review

- Marc

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-01-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio