Baby Doll

  • by Hollie Overton
  • Narrated by Jenna Lamia, MacLeod Andrews, Ellen Archer
  • 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Escape was just the beginning.
Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter, Sky, has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the dead bolt unlocked.
This is what happens next to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter - and to her captor.
For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will listen to this year.

More

What the Critics Say

"A tense survivor story for fans of Chevy Stevens' Still Missing and Chelsea Cain's One Kick." (Booklist)
"Captur[es] the unique bond shared by identical twins." (Kirkus)
"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." (New York Times best-selling author Tess Gerritsen)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Young Adult Storyline & Narration

If you've read Room, you were excited to pick this up. However, it's narrated by a teenager and is completely unrealistic and casual. Written and narrated for teenagers. I find myself waiting for it to be over and skipping over drawn out explanations and anecdotes. Seriously, save yourself the trouble.
Read full review

- Natalya Cappellini

Wish I would known this was a Young Adult book.

Would you listen to Baby Doll again? Why?

I wouldn't listen to it again, it is a super teeny bopper book.


How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

Maybe develop some more adult roles.


What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

The narrator did good, however she had a very young voice. It started to get on my nerves after a while.


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

My emotions did not get to the laugh or cry factor, the book was based on events that have happened many times in the last few years. I have listened to this book, by watching the news.


Any additional comments?

Baby Doll was a not a thriller in any way, not a suspense book either. Good deep themed although.

Read full review

- Momma's Stuff

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-12-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio