Regular price: $14.45

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.45

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Sunday Times best seller returns with his next unforgettable crime thriller. Fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart MacBride won't be able to stop listening to this.
John Sagan is a forgettable man. You could pass him in the street and not realise he's there. But then, that's why he's so dangerous.
A torturer for hire, Sagan has terrorised - and mutilated - countless victims. And now he's on the move. DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg must chase the trail, even when it leads him to his hometown of Bradburn - a place he never thought he'd set foot in again.
But Sagan isn't the only problem. Bradburn is being terrorised by a lone killer who burns his victims to death. And with the victims chosen at random, no one knows who will be next. Least of all Heck...
©2017 Paul Finch (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Edge-of-the-seat reading.... Heck is formidable - a British Alex Cross." ( The Sun)
"Wonderfully dark and peppered with grim humour. Finch is a born storyteller and writes with the authentic voice of the ex-copper he is." (Peter Finch)
"An ingenious and original plot. Compulsive reading." (Rachel Abbott)
"A deliciously twisted and fiendish set of murders and a great pairing of detectives." (Stav Sherez)
"Avon's big star...part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa! An excellent series." ( The Bookseller)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By E. Walsh on 11-19-17

Cross That Bridge Yet Again.

Maybe it's because I'm a Londoner that I love London town?
Maybe that's the reason I read a lot of police procedurals based in the UK.
I stared listening to this series and I was willing to get past the fact that Heck wasn't anything like any real policeman ever was or ever could be.
Just a fun ride on my daily trips to and from work.
Heck was the good guy, all he needed was a white cowboy hat and the bad guys should wear black cowboy hats.
Seems that Paul Finch must love railway stations
Seems like in each and every book there is a foot chase that is close to a station.
Yes there is always a bridge and yes Heck manages to get across that bridge in each and every book.
Why do I think that Mr. Finch spent his Saturdays train spotting and then rushed home to catch Doctor Who or the BBC?
However like a moth drawn closer to the flame, I'm going to remain loyal to the series, I'll keep going, in part just because Paul Thornley fills the space in my car and is a voice from home and I like the way he can spit out some of the lines with true conviction.
The books are not everyone's cup of tea.
There is a lot of blood and gore.
Heck is like the Lone Ranger an like the Lone Ranger will ride again breaking rules and finding new railway bridges to cross.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Duncan Bell on 05-12-17

Awesome and Paul Thornley cracks it again.

The story is very good and never lets its foot off the gas.
Paul Thornley really is a master of narration and adds to the twists, turns and excitement.
Highly recommended.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By johanna allsopp on 04-24-17

A bit slow

A bit slow to start with but it got there in the end, hope the next one is a bit more gritty.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc