Regular price: $11.72

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $11.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

The only thing John Appleby is better at than solving crimes is telling their stories, as in this volume he often does to the six-member Mystery Club. Matt Addis brings just the right amount of elegance and erudition and not-quite-fully-suppressed snobbery to the character of Appleby as he reads this assembly of previously uncollected stories (originally published 1954 to 1979) by Michael Innes (the pseudonym of noted Oxford don John Innes Macintosh Stewart). With particular verve, Addis brings to life all the sophistication and good humor in works that made Inspector Appleby one of the outstanding figures during the "Golden Age of Detective Fiction".
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Appleby Talks About Crime is a collection of 18 previously uncollected mystery stories by Michael Innes, who is best known for his Inspector Appleby crime series. Many are told by Appleby himself to the six-member mystery club, and are all as thrilling as one would expect from this legendary figure of the golden age of detective fiction.
Born in Edinburgh in 1906, the son of the city's director of education, John Innes Mackintosh Stewart wrote a highly successful series of mystery stories under the pseudonym Michael Innes. Innes was educated at Oriel College, Oxford, where he was presented with the Matthew Arnold Memorial Prize and named a Bishop Frazer's scholar. After graduation he went to Vienna, to study Freudian psychoanalysis for a year and following his first book, an edition of Florio's translation of Montaigne, was offered a lectureship at the University of Leeds.
In 1932 he married Margaret Hardwick, a doctor, and they subsequently had five children including Angus, also a novelist. The year 1936 saw Innes as professor of english at the University of Adelaide, during which tenure he wrote his first mystery story, "Death at the President's Lodging". With his second, "Hamlet Revenge", Innes firmly established his reputation as a highly entertaining and cultivated writer. After the end of World War II, Innes returned to the UK and spent two years at Queen's University, Belfast where in 1949 he wrote the Journeying Boy, a novel notable for the richly comedic use of an Irish setting. He then settled down as a reader in english literature at Christ Church, Oxford, from which he retired in 1973. His most famous character is John Appleby, who inspired a penchant for donnish detective fiction that lasts to this day. Innes's other well-known character is Honeybath, the painter and rather reluctant detective, who first appeared in 1975 in The Mysterious Commission. The last novel, Appleby and the Ospreys, was published in 1986, some eight years before his death in 1994.
©2013 Michael Innes (P)2013 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc