An Instance of the Fingerpost

  • by Iain Pears
  • Narrated by Gareth Armstrong, Roger May, Christopher Oxford, David McAlister
  • 28 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Set in Oxford in the 1660s – a time and place of great intellectual, scientific, religious and political ferment – this remarkable novel centres around a young woman, Sarah Blundy, who stands accused of the murder of Robert Grove, a fellow of New College. Four witnesses describe the events surrounding his death: Marco da Cola, a Venetian Catholic intent on claiming credit for the invention of blood transfusion; Jack Prescott, the son of a supposed traitor to the Royalist cause, determined to vindicate his father; John Wallis, chief cryptographer to both Cromwell and Charles 1l a mathematician, theologican and inveterate plotter; and Anthony Wood, the famous Oxford antiquary. Each one tells their version of what happened but only one reveals the extraordinary truth.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Slow Buildup, but worthwhile

The four threads of the story are intertwined and build towards the climatic end. Some parts proceed slowly, and patience may be required. I am stumbled by the names of various who's who during that period, and especially lost momentum during the second narrative. But the buildup for me really started in the third narrative, culminating in the final "a-ha!" In the fourth narrative.

This is well worth the read. The readers are all of top quality.
Read full review

- Tee

A gripping tale!

Though long, the story was told through different voices which is a novel approach. The author holds your attention until the very end and provides a totally expected conclusion. Highly recommended and I will want to listen to more from this author.
Read full review

- Roger Perrault

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-26-2011
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd