Altered Life

  • by Pearlie Wood
  • Narrated by Kathryn Fields
  • 7 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Abigail McKenzie was a bright, popular high school student with great dreams for her future. One day, mental illness struck and those dreams came crashing down. Or did they? In this fascinating psychological novel, we learn about schizophrenia from the perspective of eighteen year old Abby. She unexpectedly finds herself afflicted with a condition that has severe social stigma and for which there is no cure. We accompany her as she gradually loses mental clarity and the ability to function in society; and we follow her on the journey as she attempts to return to a normal life. By a cruel twist of fate in Abby's family, she ends up living in a boarding home where she meets persons from all walks of life who, like her, struggle with mental illness. The home's administrator and a new social club for mentally ill people challenge Abigail to confront her schizophrenia. She must now decide whether to continue living an altered life, or attempt to reach past her condition to the life she had once dreamed about.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautifully read narrative!

What did you love best about Altered Life?

The sensitivity of the reading, and the honesty and truth of the writing

What was one of the most memorable moments of Altered Life?

The opening lines

What does Kathryn Fields bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Kathryn Fields made a story out of what could have been a documentary

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It was very touching

Any additional comments?

This is an unfiltered telling of a story about schizophrenia and bi-polar disease that should be on the shelves of every mental health facility's library. The audio book is particularly valuable, as the characters are brought into poignant relief by the reading of Kathryn Fields.

Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2014
  • Publisher: Pearlie Wood