Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder - a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith. 
Harry Ackerson has always considered his stepmother, Alice, to be sexy and beautiful in an "otherworldly" way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years. 
Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead, and the police think it's suicide. Devastated, Harry returns to his father's home in Maine. There, he and Alice will help each other pick up the pieces of their lives and uncover what happened to his father. 
Shortly after he arrives, Harry meets a mysterious young woman named Grace McGowan. Though she claims to be new to the area, Harry begins to suspect that Grace may not be a complete stranger to his family. But she isn't the only attractive woman taking an interest in Harry. The sensual Alice is also growing closer, coming on to him in an enticing, clearly sexual way. 
Mesmerized by these two women, Harry finds himself falling deeper under their spell. Yet the closer he gets to them, the more isolated he feels, disoriented by a growing fear that both women are hiding dangerous - even deadly - secrets...and that neither one is telling the truth. 
©2018 Peter Swanson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By shelley on 04-04-18

LISTENERS BEWARE!


This is a VERY DARK novel.
It crosses the lines of adults having sexual relationships that border on incestuous between step parents and the teenage children of their spouses. Though technically not incest, the perspective ages of teenagers being seduced by 40ish something adults may make this book unappealing to some.
The story unfolds in two time periods -then and now. There's Alice growing up with an alcoholic mother and her step father (Jake). Her mother's death (murder?) and Alice alone with Jake. Then there's Alice as the step mother with her deceased (murder or suicide?) husband's son, Harry.
Abuse perpetuates abuse.
When a young woman shows up in town who claims she was Harry's father's lover, she is murdered. Then her sister shows up. There's danger around every corner for her.
The characters are cold take matters into their own hands to survive in their own idealistic world. Though it never comes to fruition.
Except for Harry and the murdered woman's sister, I could not muster up a warm feeling for any of the other characters.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

Read More Hide me

51 of 62 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Stephanie Poninski on 04-10-18

Lolita Gone Bad

This is a far cry from the well-written and interesting, The Kind Worth Killing. The plot was implausible and predictable. I felt like I was listening to a Lifetime movie. None of the characters were likable and all were cliche. Save your time and money on this one.

Read More Hide me

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews