Alert : Michael Bennett

  • by James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
  • Narrated by Danny Mastrogiorgio, Henry Leyva
  • Series: Michael Bennett
  • 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"This is not a test" - every New Yorker's worst nightmare is about to become a reality.
New Yorkers aren't easily intimidated, but someone is doing their best to scare them badly. Why? After two inexplicable high-tech attacks, the city that never sleeps is on edge. Detective Michael Bennett, along with his old pal, the FBI's Emily Parker, have to catch the shadowy criminals who claim responsibility - but they're as good at concealing their identities as they are at wreaking havoc.
In the wake of a shocking assassination, Bennett begins to suspect that these mysterious events are just the prelude to the biggest threat of all. Soon he's racing against the clock and against the most destructive enemy he's faced yet to save his beloved city - before everyone's worst nightmare becomes a reality.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Moves at the Perfect Pace - Patterson is back!

Listeners are always consumed with the idea that a book moves "fast" or "too slow". This book moves at the perfect pace; when one event of excitement is over, the next one begins immediately. It seems that New York might be so vulnerable as to be susceptible to being wiped off the face of the earth and no one appears capable of dealing with the problems caused by the latest "terrorist." There is hardly breathing room between each incident (some occur simultaneously), yet I had no difficulty keeping up with the multiple events (a problem that occurs with less experienced writers). Lately, I have been a little disenchanted with Patterson, particularly with his collaborations, but through this book, he appears as good as ever. Hard to know which author to credit, but it really doesn't matter. Either way, this book is great.
Read full review

- Vicki "71-year-old grandmother who has been an avid reader all my life. I have recently retired from being a litigation attorney (for Plaintiffs)."

Do not like two narrators.

Suspend belief when listening to this story. How does Michael wind up where all the action takes place? There is no reason for the military to take him along on a mission, for instance. But what bothered me the most was the use of two narrators. It serves no purpose. The voice of Michael as a true New Yorker is great. Then comes another voice for him that is all wrong. The Baldacci books that use male and female narrators works great, But the two men are all wrong!
Read full review

- JoElayne Ferré Johnson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-03-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio