• Agatha Raisin

  • The Murderous Marriage
  • By: M.C. Beaton
  • Narrated by: Penelope Keith
  • Length: 5 hrs and 56 mins
  • Radio/TV Program
  • Release date: 03-13-09
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.1 (133 ratings)

Regular price: $7.24

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $7.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fifth volume in the M.C. Beaton mystery series, starring Penelope Keith.
After pursuing him for nearly four years, Agatha is finally about to marry James Lacey, the handsome Colonel next door. But there's just one little problem.
©2009 BBC Audiobooks Ltd (P)2015 Audible, Inc
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Nancy on 05-12-16

Misleading heading

What disappointed you about Agatha Raisin?

Agatha Raisin, as always, was very enjoyable but at the time I am writing this review, the title of this audible book is The Wizard of Evesham and the Murderous Marriage and that is what the description said was included in this audible book but it's just The Murderous Marriage so it's very misleading. False advertising, really.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I loved the book, I don't love Audible's incorrect description about what was included.

Any additional comments?

Audible needs to update this.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Kristi on 10-13-12

Great fun hearing Agatha acted out!

This is a dramatization, but being a fan of Agatha Raisin novels, I found it quite entertaining. All of the actors are wonderful and my only complaint that it was over too soon!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Samantha on 05-14-10

A good listen - BBC radio version

This is a good listen - ideal for the car, however this audiobook does not contain the unabridged books, but rather the BBC radio plays based upon these books starring Penelope Keith. The radio plays are very good, although obviously much shorter than the books, and Penelope Keith makes an excellent Agatha.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By R. A. Johnston on 10-30-16

No Wizard of Evesham!

WARNING Don't be fooled into thinking that you are getting two books for the price of one as the Wizard of Evesham is NOT included in this audiobook. For this reason only I have to give the overall mark 3 stars - how can i judge what i wasn't given? It's an odd paring anyway as The Murderous Marriage is book 5 and the Wizard of Evesham is book 8! However, the price for the single book is actually cheaper than a lot of the other Agatha Raisin books, so if you pay for it then you are still getting your money's worth (of course if you bought it with a credit you may well feel that you have been conned).

You can actually tell by the running time of about 6 hours that there cannot possibly be two unabridged books included, and if you look at the book cover you can see that it only mentions The Murderous Marriage.

I see that there is another 'double-up' book on offer (The Curious Curate and Buried Treasure). Again, only the Curious Curate shows on the book cover, and the running time is only 6.5 hours so I doubt that Buried Treasure is also on there but I haven't bought it yet so this is just my surmise.

Anyway, back to the review of The Murderous Marriage, all I can say is that the performance and story both get 5* - Penelope Keith's performance is as good as ever and the book is as entertaining as all the previous ones.

Read More Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc