Acoustic Shadows

  • by Patrick Kendrick
  • Narrated by Scott Ellis
  • 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A thriller that will take you on a heart-pounding, pulse-racing rollercoaster ride. Perfect for fans of James Patterson and Lee Child.
Erica Weisz, a new substitute teacher in the small town of Frosthaven, Florida, has a dangerous secret. When two gunmen attack the school where she works, it becomes impossible to keep the truth buried.
Wounded and running for her life, she must learn to trust the only person who can help her, Florida Department of Law Enforcement Agent Justin Thiery.
But Thiery has his own personal demons to overcome if he is to save Erica and find redemption for himself.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very Exciting Action/Suspense a la Patterson.

Would you consider the audio edition of Acoustic Shadows to be better than the print version?

Audio books are always better than print because you can listen while driving or doing chores. They are the ultimate multi-tasking chore.


Who was your favorite character and why?

That is a toss-up between Erica and Theory. Erica is a strong, resourceful character who survives multiple attacks on her life. She thinks quickly on her feet. She hides the children during the attack on the school and finds an opportunity to shoot back.

Theory is a police officer who embodies the nobility and bravery of police work. He is an honest and dutiful ex-football player who cares about doing what is right. He also has no patience for office politics.


What does Scott Ellis bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The narrator gives a very good performance with unique voices for each character. This is a fast paced story that benefits from Ellis' style.


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

This is a great story. It is not political. It is not pro or anti gun. Both sides are presented in a realistic way without being the focus of the story. Rather opinions are organically and realistically expressed as part of the story (but not an important part). It is an action story with an interesting premise, good dialogue, intricate plot, and good action scenes with graphically realistic violence.


Any additional comments?

This book contains a two mild sex scenes and realistically graphic violence. The violence is an organic part of the story. I received this book for free from the author, narrator, or publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Read full review

- pixledust "Because tales should be told."

A Chase Thriller with Strong Main Characters

What did you love best about Acoustic Shadows?

Acoustic Shadows has elements of some of the "big name" thriller writers and characters that are more readily likeable.


Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

I lived only a mile away from the Aurora, Colorado theater shootings in 2012 and worked a few miles from the 1999 Columbine High School rampage. I was horrified at the Sandy Hook Elementary school massacre as I watched on television also in 2012. This book opens with a similar assault on a school. Though I am not a gun advocate, I always wonder what might have been... what if someone else was armed in these situations?
That was the hook. The book progresses through the situation. Why did the substitute teacher have a gun? And the story developed quite well from there.


What does Scott Ellis bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

This is the third or fourth audio book I've listened to utilizing Scott's talents. He is blessed with the ability to get the author's story across to his audience. Very listenable, a large range of believable voices. He develops excitement and drama appropriate to the books he chooses to interpret. Bottom line, he's very good at his chosen field!


If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

I'll just run away.


Any additional comments?

This was a very good action thriller. excellent narration!

Thanks for the opportunity to review Acoustic Shadows!

This review copy audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost. Which I can only assume was voluntary on their part. I am happy to give my honest review of it. I think I'm suppose to mention how reviewing this was voluntary on my part too.

Read full review

- in1ear (John Row) "Male, mid 60's, over 1,100 helpful votes on Amazon, over 350 helpful votes on Audible, own 590 + Audible books and over 10,100 Kindle books"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2016
  • Publisher: Patrick Kendrick