• by Isla Morley
  • Narrated by Madeleine Maby
  • 13 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

I am a secret no one is able to tell.
Blythe Hallowell is 16 when she is abducted by a survivalist and locked away in an aban­doned missile silo in Eudora, Kansas. At first, she focuses frantically on finding a way out, until the harrowing truth of her new existence settles in - the crushing loneliness, the terrifying madness of a captor who believes he is saving her from the end of the world, and the persistent temptation to give up. But nothing prepares Blythe for the burden of raising a child in confinement. Deter­mined to give the boy everything she has lost, she pushes aside the truth about a world he may never see for a myth that just might give mean­ing to their lives below ground. Years later, their lives are ambushed by an event at once promis­ing and devastating. As Blythe’s dream of going home hangs in the balance, she faces the ultimate choice - between survival and freedom.
Above is a riveting tale of resilience in which "stunning" (Daily Beast) new literary voice Isla Morley compels us to imagine what we would do if everything we had ever known was taken away. Like the bestselling authors of Room and The Lovely Bones before her, Morley explores the unthinkable with haunting detail and tenderly depicts our boundless capacity for hope.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

NOTHING LIKE "Room" by Emma Donoghue

Is there anything you would change about this book?

The misleading description

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

It turned into a very different book... Didn't like it

Any additional comments?

Nothing like Rooom

Read full review

- Marissa O'Connor

Not what I thought but not bad either

There were a few odd twists but overall, a good read. Depressing at times so be forewarned. And at other times it had my heart racing out of my chest. But it ended as it should and that is good enough for me.
Read full review

- Stacy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-04-2014
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio