Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous.
A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
It starts with a simple favor - an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son, Nicky, after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together - just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.
But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong - Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog's readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.
Or is it? Because soon Stephanie will begin to see that nothing - not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor - is as simple as it seems.
A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense - a clever and twisting freefall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final minute.
©2017 Seven Acres, LLC (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By MA Reviewer on 04-09-17

Simply average......

What I liked best about the book was that there were three narrators and all of them were excellent. I also thought that the book really moved. The reason why I only gave the book three stars overall was because I felt that the ending was very abrupt. I also felt that there were many aspects of the storyline that were bizarre and a bit contrived. I am unable to give specific examples because these examples would be spoilers for those who have not read the book. All in all, when the book ended, I was really not satisfied because there were too many loose ends.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By ACV on 04-15-17

Read this if you root for the bad guy

I didn't give it 2 stars because if you just need a story on your way to work or as you're doing other things...background noise, then it's fine. But if you want to invest in characters and need a great plot twist then don't bother. Everything is predictable and for the first time I'm going to criticize these characters. I might have liked them, I wanted to but they ended up being just unforgivable, dumb and dumb...that is my judgement of all three. Narration is fine, story is fine, twists are predictable, plot is fine, ending is weird.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc