A Simple Favor

  • by Darcey Bell
  • Narrated by Andi Arndt, Xe Sands, Matthew Waterson
  • 8 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous.
A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.
It starts with a simple favor - an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son, Nicky, after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together - just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.
But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong - Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog's readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.
Or is it? Because soon Stephanie will begin to see that nothing - not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor - is as simple as it seems.
A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense - a clever and twisting freefall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final minute.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Too many old plot devices

A few years from now, when asked about this book, I'll start to describe it and think I'm confusing "Gone Girl" with "Pretty Little Liars" and 3 other novels. Nothing really new or exciting. I kept wanting something more to come out of some aspects of the story, but nothing did. The characters were gullible, or maybe just plain stupid. None very likable, except perhaps the poor insurance investigator. At first I thought narration was the issue, then realized that the narrators were great and really brought to life the 3 idiots who deserved each other. Did pass the time on a long driving trip, though.
Read full review

- 3 girls Mom

Simply average......

What I liked best about the book was that there were three narrators and all of them were excellent. I also thought that the book really moved. The reason why I only gave the book three stars overall was because I felt that the ending was very abrupt. I also felt that there were many aspects of the storyline that were bizarre and a bit contrived. I am unable to give specific examples because these examples would be spoilers for those who have not read the book. All in all, when the book ended, I was really not satisfied because there were too many loose ends.
Read full review

- MA Reviewer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-21-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio