A Quiet Life in the Country : Lady Hardcastle Mysteries

  • by T E Kinsey
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Series: Lady Hardcastle Mysteries
  • 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lady Emily Hardcastle is an eccentric widow with a secret past. Florence Armstrong, her maid and confidante, is an expert in martial arts. The year is 1908 and they've just moved from London to the country, hoping for a quiet life.
But it is not long before Lady Hardcastle is forced out of her self-imposed retirement. There's a dead body in the woods, and the police are on the wrong scent. Lady Hardcastle makes some enquiries of her own, and it seems she knows a surprising amount about crime investigation...
As Lady Hardcastle and Flo delve deeper into rural rivalries and resentment, they uncover a web of intrigue that extends far beyond the village. With almost no one free from suspicion, they can be certain of only one fact: there is no such thing as a quiet life in the country.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Never Wanted It to End!

I found myself laughing out loud during parts of this book even as I tried to guess who the murderer was. The writing is so active, I was brought into the story and hated when my commute was over. It's not often that you find this perfect blend of good writing and narration. The author does explain the character's relationship built over previous books in the series, but you needn't have read them to enjoy this one.

The narration brought to life the characters dress, their movements, their faces, their lives. Without going too much into the plot, our heroines go through the countryside solving not one, but two murders! Definitely worth the credit and will look for more from these two.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer "Eclectic, fun, zesty. Life is too short to not live fully."

The way things ought to have been.....

Suspend your historical knowledge and have a lovely romp with Flo and Emily! A very nice CID man who joyfully works with these amateur sleuths adds more fun to the mix. Very well written and I am slathering for more, dear ones. Bless you and remember you are star dust.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio