A Dangerous Man

  • by Charlie Huston
  • Narrated by Charlie Thurston
  • 9 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Reluctant hit man Henry Thompson has fallen on hard times. His grip on life is disintegrating, his pistol hand is shaking, his body is pinned to his living room couch by painkillers - and his boss, Russian mobster David Dolokhov, isn't happy about any of it. So Henry is surprised when he's handed a new assignment: Keep tabs on a minor league baseball star named Miguel Arenas.
Henry has no pity for the slugger and the wicked gambling problem that got him in trouble, but he can't help liking the guy. After all, Henry used to be just like him, a natural-born ball player with a bright future. But that was long ago, before Henry did some guy a favor and ended up running for his life; before his girlfriend and buddies got gunned down by someone on his tail; before he agreed to buy his parents' safety with a life of violence.
When Miguel gets drafted by the Mets and is sent to the Brooklyn Cyclones, Henry must head back to New York, back to the place where all his problems began and where Henry might find a real reason to keep living - a reason that may just cost him his life.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great series

loved the series. You could feel the ending coming for a long time and I guess it was inevitable but still sad.
Read full review

- keith

Breaks my heart every time...

I love the book (and trilogy) but didn't care for this reader. It was probably intentional, but there was nothing naturalistic about his delivery, especially in Henry's voice. It felt as though he was declaiming every line. At first I didn't care for the reader of the second book, but grew accustomed to his voice and natural delivery very quickly. I kept hoping the same would happen with this book, but it never did.
I've read the trilogy at least three times but this is my first time listening to it: still thrilling, tragic, and triumphant!
Read full review

- Sherri Wilson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-20-2013
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.