Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

London, 1887. As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a sharpened hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England now gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime. But fate has other plans, as Veronica discovers when she thwarts her own abduction with the help of an enigmatic German baron with ties to her mysterious past. Promising to reveal in time what he knows of the plot against her, the baron offers her temporary sanctuary in the care of his friend Stoker - a reclusive natural historian as intriguing as he is bad-tempered. But before the baron can deliver on his tantalizing vow to reveal the secrets he has concealed for decades, he is found murdered. Suddenly Veronica and Stoker are forced to go on the run from an elusive assailant, wary partners in search of the villainous truth.
©2015 Deanna Raybourn (P)2015 Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By L. Williams on 06-29-16

For fans of Elizabeth Peters and Gail Carriger

I won't address the plot here - others have done so. I do want to address the criticism that the heroine is unlikable. I can understand that her brusque demeanor might be off-putting. She is definitely of a type - a strong, independent woman exercising her own agency in an era when that was not the norm. Veronica Speedwell reminded me very much of Amelia Peabody or Alexia Tarabotti, women convinced of their superior judgment, seldom wrong but never in doubt.

I enjoyed the book immensely. It's character types and plot do fit neatly into tropes we've seen before (an exceptional independent woman aided by a rugged misanthrope with a secret or troubled past - eg Mr Rochester - faces sinister forces). If that sounds like the perfect cozy read for a rainy day or on the beach, then I heartily recommend A Curious Beginning.

For anyone worried that this is written by a Romance novelist, I can only say it is not remotely a bodice ripper. There is sexual tension and some suggestive dialogue, but I could probably give this to my Sunday School teacher mother to read without any concern of offending her.

The best news of all - especially for anyone who misses The Parasol Protectorate and Amelia Peabody series - is that the book seems set up as the first in a series. I'm eagerly anticipating the follow up!

Read More Hide me

32 of 33 people found this review helpful


By Coffee Lover on 02-24-16

Great listen!

Very different than the other Deanna Raybourn titles I have listened to but I loved it. Great character development and sometimes laugh out loud funny. Can't wait for the next installment in the series.

Read More Hide me

59 of 64 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews