A Cunning Plan : Sloane Harper

  • by Astrid Arditi
  • Narrated by L.W. Salinas
  • Series: Sloane Harper
  • 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Determined to put her family back together, Sloane Harper stalks her ex-husband and his annoyingly stunning mistress, Kate. But she's not the only one. Handsome IRS agent Ethan Cunning is surveying them too, but not for the same reasons. He is attempting to nail Kate's playboy boss. Ethan and Sloane decide to help each other, which sends Sloane's wobbly life spinning out of control. She'll have to face danger, humiliation, and, scariest of all, the dating scene to lure her daughters' father home. Losing control was the best thing to happen to Sloane...until it turned lethal. The Sloane Harper series is a laugh-out-loud rollercoaster that will appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Stephanie Bond, and Donna White Glaser.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Cunning Mystery

This story is in the same vein as Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, but I think this soft-boiled heroine shows more growth (it's more like the first Stephanie Plum book, One for the Money). There were some twists I didn't see coming. I liked the secondary characters and would like to see more of them in the rest of the series. I would particularly like to see more of Alena and learn how she dealt with the aftermath of what happened in this story. I enjoyed the Cinderella aspect, and I hope for more romance in the sequel. The mystery was solved and most of the ends were tied up in this book, but don't expect a HEA like you would see in a romance. I would classify this more as a fun mystery or chick lit. There were a couple of places where the author lost me, like with all the WASP references. At least, I assume she was referring to WASPs. That's one of the drawbacks of audiobooks, not being able to see the spelling or capitalization of words.

As far as the narration, Salinas shows promise, but she over-enunciated throughout the audiobook and mispronounced some words. She did read with feeling and expression, and her character voices were all right.
Read full review

- KindleBabe

interesting, different could be better

Any additional comments?

Some humour, slightly suspenseful and romance all in one, I actually laughed out loud on the odd occasion and I enjoyed the banter between Claudia and Sloaneā€™s mother, but I found the book itself is rather slow, with nothing really happening at all but Sloane going on about wanting her husband back but there are a few fun and interesting moments.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-28-2017
  • Publisher: Astrid Arditi