A Crimson Warning : Lady Emily

  • by Tasha Alexander
  • Narrated by Bianca Amato
  • Series: Lady Emily
  • 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling author Tasha Alexander crafts compelling works that are equally celebrated for their intricate plotting and historical authenticity. A Crimson Warning features beloved character Lady Emily Hargreaves, who can usually be found waltzing or reading from the Aeneid when not fighting for women’s suffrage. Lady Emily’s enjoyment of the season, however, comes to an abrupt end when the red paint being splashed on doorsteps heralds ill - even deadly - tidings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The perfect historical mystery

- Excellent narrator
- Well developed characters
- Great depiction of the period
- Captivating story

This is number 6 in the Lady Emily series and, unfortunately, the only one currently available from audible. More Tasha Alexander please!!!
Read full review

- Anna

insipid cliche cocktail

After a month-long diet of Ian Rankin novels and world war histories, I tried this to clear my reading palate, but found this listen only dull and derivative rather than the light humorous distraction I sought. It's a weak mixture of Amelia Peabody and Lady Julia Grey, with an attempted dash of Phyrne Fisher, but it didn't hang together for me. The heroine taught herself Latin, has a "remarkable" Jeeves-like butler, assists a husband that, in spite of wealth and position, is "invaluable to the Queen" as an agent (we are told this multiple times); all seem to exist in a London that smacks of Regency novel characteristics despite the Victorian setting. The mystery never really takes off, but at least the listen is PG - no actual bodice ripping.

This narrator usually does a better job than in the present novel. She seems to be trying too hard to draw out vowels -- If there is such a thing as "truthiness,' then she's attempting historiness.
Read full review

- connie "Narrative makes the world go round."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-03-2011
  • Publisher: Recorded Books