• by Dustin Thomason
  • Narrated by Fred Sanders, Noel Rodriguez, Dustin Thomason
  • 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-best seller The Rule of Four, comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon - perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.


What the Critics Say

"Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book." (Kirkus Reviews)
"The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake." (Vince Flynn)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Three stars, but enjoyable

The premise was clever -- making both the scientific and the religious explanation for an apocalypse seem 'plausible.' (If events happen to come together too smoothly....is it a preposterous coincidence, or fate?) The writing was pretty solid. The narration, for the most part, was good (except for Noel Rodriguez -- I assume he is the reader for the "scribe" and sounds like a caricature of a drunk who is exaggerating his Spanish accent...those parts were excruciating and I found myself listening at double-speed through some sections). I was totally entertained -- and yet, the character development was a little weak and some fail to come alive as people. They are simply figures in the plot. Still, like I said, I did enjoy it.
Read full review

- cristina

Not Awful But...

The science and medicine is sort of interesting but the story is not well written. I love sci-fi and I am pretty good about suspending logic for the sake of a good story but there are parts of this books that are just dumb. A doctor hears about a car crash in Los Angeles and suspects it might have been caused by someone afflicted with a condition so rare fewer than 50 people in the world have been diagnosed with it? He runs to investigate and finds out he was right? Are inattentive driving accidents that rare in Los Angeles? Also, I am not in the health profession but it seems to me genetic testing is not something that gets done on demand, in a few hours in what is described as a rundown inner city public hospital. There were other similar incidents of illogic and just bad story telling.

Overall it is not awful but there are cringe-worthy moments. And there are three narrators and no one can do a British accent?
Read full review

- Kim Venatries "There are few things better than a good story well told!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-07-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audio