• by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Narrated by Jeannie Stith
  • 7 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Dead girl walking," the boys say in the halls."Tell us your secret," the girls whisper, one toilet to another.I am that girl.I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame. Lia and Cassie were best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies. But now Cassie is dead. Lia's mother is busy saving other people's lives. Her father is away on business. Her stepmother is clueless. And the voice inside Lia's head keeps telling her to remain in control, stay strong, lose more, weigh less. If she keeps on going this way - thin, thinner, thinnest - maybe she'll disappear altogether.In her most emotionally wrenching, lyrical book since the National Book Award finalist Speak, best-selling author Laurie Halse Anderson explores one girl's chilling descent into the all-consuming vortex of anorexia.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Laurie Halse Anderson is a phenomenal story teller. I read her book Speak in 1 day, one of her best. This story was intriguing, disturbing, and heartwarming.

The one thing I didn't like is how they audibly handled what I assume are cross outs in the written from of the book. There are beeps and odd volume adjustments. I think I'd rather hear a vocal change rather than an "editing" change. I think Jeannie Stith could have acted the "cross outs" without the annoying beeps. I personally don't like that directorial? choice. I'm curious to see how other audio productions handle that challenge
Read full review

- AudiobookWorm

Well written however...

Well written book. Definitely enjoyed it. My concern is the message it sends to others- really shames bulimics and almost romanticizes anorexia, or at least makes it seem like the "better" disease, that people who have it are more love able, angelic, etc... Fact is more people have bulimia than anorexia.
Read full review

- Alexandra Adele Rapoport

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-19-2009
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio