Where the Red Fern Grows

  • by Wilson Rawls
  • Narrated by Anthony Heald
  • 6 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A loving threesome, Billy and his two dogs ranged the dark hills and river bottoms of Cherokee country. Old Dan has the brawn, Little Ann has the brains, and Billy has the will to make them into the finest hunting team in the valley. Glory and victory were coming to them, but sadness waited too. Soon their skills will be put to the test as they brave the dangers of the wilds for the ultimate glory.Since its publication over forty years ago, this heartwarming tale of a boy and his dogs has touched millions. A tale of adventure, special friendship and coming-of-age, Where the Red Fern Grows makes for delightful listening. This unabridged production, featuring a moving performance by Anthony Heald, brings this enduring classic to life and makes a powerful story even more unforgettable.


What the Critics Say

"This title is an excellent selection for family listening or for anyone desiring an uplifting, but realistic tale." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What a great story!

This book runs the gamut of human emotions. I loved this book when I was younger and really enjoyed visiting it again through an Audio version. I liked the narrator's voice alot. I thought he captured the nuances and feelings in the book perfectly. This is a true classic, one you can enjoy again and again. And yes, I did cry at the end just like the first time. :-)
Read full review

- Mary A.

Excellent for children and adults

A wonderful and moving story of a boy and his love for the two hunting dogs he raises. The Ozark forests are beautifully remembered and the dangers and challenges that boy, his dogs, and his family face are exciting, and deeply moving. While not for young children, this book will be memorable for both children and adults. The reading is near perfect in pace and tone.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-24-2003
  • Publisher: Listening Library