• by Terry Pratchett
  • Narrated by Stephen Briggs
  • 4 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Outside! What's it like?" Masklin looked blank. "Well," he said. "It's sort of big." To the thousands of tiny nomes who live under the floorboards of a large department store, there is no outside. Things like day and night, sun and rain are just daft old legends.Then a devastating piece of news shatters their existence: the Store, their whole world, is to be demolished. It's up to Masklin, one of the last nomes to come into the Store, to mastermind an unbelievable escape plan that will take all the nomes into the dangers of the great Outside.This is the first book in the Bromeliad Trilogy.


What the Critics Say

"Filled with wry humor that calls into question the nomes' blind faith in [the Store], the novel encourages readers to ponder the larger issues of truth in their own lives." (Children's Literature)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great fun w/an edge - classic Pratchett

As a long-time Discworld fan, I hesitated for years over whether to try Pratchett's "younger" books. I shouldn't have! They're just as funny, perhaps a slightly lighter and certainly a quicker read, but well worth the time and credits. (If reading to or with kids I can imagine kids and adults both getting a great laugh out of them, just probably preferring slightly different jokes!) Since TP is apparently unable to write anything without a philosophical/satirical edge, the trilogy touches on religion, the psychology of leadership and group behavior, xenophobia, consumerism and more.

Unlike another reviewer, I think Briggs did a brilliant job reading this, with funny and appropriate voices. I especially enjoyed the way he intoned the selections from The Book of Nome at the start of each chapter.
Read full review

- Joan

Absolutely delightful

My first foray into the famous and popular Terry Pratchett's work. This wonderful story of gnomes living in a dying department store on Earth, not knowing their universe was once MUCH larger than that, is chock full of chuckle and guffaw moments, and a wonderfully crafted story. I'll be going back for the next books in this trilogy for sure.
Read full review

- Tina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-30-2009
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks