Regular price: $25.08

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes, a powerful novel set 15 years after the 9/11 attacks.
When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Deja can't help but feel confused. She sets off on a journey of discovery, with new friends Ben and Sabeen by her side. But just as she gets closer to answering big questions about who she is, what America means, and how communities can grow (and heal), she uncovers new questions, too. Like, why does Pop get so angry when she brings up anything about the towers?
Award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes tells a powerful story about young people who weren't alive to witness this defining moment in history but begin to realize how much it colors their every day.
©2016 Jewell Parker Rhodes (P)2016 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Rhodes approaches a complex, painful topic with insight and grace, providing context to an event distant to the book's audience." ( Publishers Weekly)
"This is a welcome contribution to children's literature." ( School Library Journal)
"This tender retelling of tragedy is a solid vessel to help young readers understand the gravity of 9/11 and how it touches all Americans, no matter where we come from. " ( Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Ms. Shannon on 10-22-17

Amazing Story; Killer Narration

I read this book with my students to teach them about 9/11, characters, and social issues. This book was amazing and was loved by many of my students (including several of my reluctant readers). However, I was not able to listen to more than 5 minutes of this audio version as the narration voice was beyond annoying; it was like nails on a chalkboard. I can't say enough amazing things about this book, unfortunately the audio is not the same.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Tracey Smith on 06-22-17

powerful read

Great story. Tackles a tough topic in a totally appropriate way for the young adult reader!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc