Then There Were Five : The Melendy Family

  • by Elizabeth Enright
  • Narrated by Pamela Dillman
  • Series: The Melendy Family
  • 6 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With Father in Washington and Cuffy away visiting a sick cousin, almost anything might happen to the Melendys left behind at the Four-Story Mistake. In the Melendy family, adventures are inevitable: Mr. Titus and the catfish; the villainy of the DeLacey brothers; Rush's composition of Opus Three; Mona's first rhubarb pie and all the canning; Randy's arrowhead; the auction and fair for the Red Cross. But best of all is the friendship with Mark Herron which begins with a scrap-collection mission and comes to a grand climax on Oliver's birthday. Here is Elizabeth Enright's story of a long and glorious summer in the country with the Melendy family.


What the Critics Say

"Elizabeth Enright has a quick eye for the unexpected, the amusing and the beautiful in what might just be ordinary experiences." (The New York Times)
"Elizabeth Enright's children are so real they seem to step right out of the pages to become one's closest friends. Don't miss them." (Chicago Sunday Tribune)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

We can't listen enough!

My children and I have listened to this book at least three times, and we have every intention of keeping it a regular in our audio library. Pamela Dillman is superb; she breathes life into each character. The author has a way with words that enchants even my youngest child. I thoroughly appreciate Enright's knack for describing the thoughts and feelings of each character with such authenticity. Sometimes I forget that the Melendy children aren't real! Each of the Melendy books is a treasure, but this one is my favorite.
Read full review

- WhitneyWill03

Bad wording

Father was in the office he told the Melndie children that Mark might not want to be adopted and then the children got excited so I think you should have said all adopt Mark if you wants to.
Read full review

- Sheila

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-04-2004
  • Publisher: Listen & Live Audio, Inc.