The Winter Knights

  • by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • 3 hrs and 11 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the great floating city of Sanctaphrax, blizzards howl through the streets as the Edgeworld descends into an endless winter. Quint, the son of a sky pirate, has just begun his training at the Knights Academy - training that involves heading out over the Edge on tethers to develop his flying skills.But when Quint breaks the rules and head out to Open Sky on his own, he runs into the great sky leviathan known as a cloud-eater and must use all his skill and ingenuity if catastrophe is not to strike the Edgeworld. You can practically feel the Banderbear's fur and smell the Tilder sausage of Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell's well-loved fantasy world as the Edge is brought to life in glorious detail in a new reading by Alex Jennings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awesome BUT they should be UNabridged!!!

These stories are perfect fun filled interesting adventures. The stories are full of rich language & interesting twists & turns. This is like a Lord of the Rings for kids (and adults too) but the descriptions are what makes the story so extraordinary. Even abridged they are great stories, well worth the listen. HOWEVER, there are many stories in this series for the reason that part of the story is the side-story and the back-story. These stories go forward & backward in time and the readers & listeners WANT to know and HEAR ALL the details. Best to have the stories mad UNabridged, as the first few in the series were. Yes, the stories take 3x as long to listen to, but that is the point, we want the WHOLE story not a short version, otherwise we would not choose to read & listen a series. It is a GREAT story with wonderful language. The books have amazing drawings too. I recommend if you listen to the books, check out a print copy from the library so you can view the drawings; one you see them you will understand.
Read full review

- HonoluluK

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-04-2008
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks