The Spiderwick Chronicles, Volume I : Spiderwick Chronicles

  • by Tony DiTerlizzi, Holly Black
  • Narrated by Mark Hamill
  • Series: Spiderwick Chronicles
  • 2 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Less than half a year ago, Tony and I received a mysterious note from Jared, Simon, and Mallory Grace, three children who have experienced authentic encounters with the beings we call faeries. As hard as it was for us to believe, we came to see that there was no alternative explanation. Now, putting aside personal concerns, we bring their stories to you. In The Field Guide, twins Jared and Simon and their older sister, Mallory, aren't all that impressed with the ramshackle old mansion their mother moves them to when their decidedly kooky Great Aunt Lucinda is sent to an asylum. But a series of mysterious events within the house leads the three young Graces to an old book filled with hand drawn pictures of all kinds of fantastic creatures. Jared believes the book holds the key to all the freaky goings on (for which he has been blamed).
In The Seeing Stone, the Grace kids are just beginning to get used to Aunt Lucinda's strange old mansion when Simon disappears. At first, Mallory thinks that her younger bother Simon is pulling some kind of prank. But when it becomes obvious that he's been snatched by goblins, Jared and his sister have to rely on the help of a mischevious house boggart, a nasty bridge troll, and a loud mouthed hobgoblin to get him back!


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is one of the best audio books I have ever listened to. Normally I read books but we were on our way to a family summer vacation and so we all listened as my dad drove. The six hour drive was made so much better with this audio book. I can't wait to hear and read the other volumes of this series.
Read full review

- Don

Great listen for the whole family

We listened to these books on our way back from vacation. The hour long adventures seemed to fly by faster than the miles home. The stories spur on the imagination into a world where all of the fantasy creatures you have ever imagined come to life. This imaginary world overlaps the very real world of the non-traditional family of a Mother and her three children. The Spiderwick Chronicles is a classic tale where any child, or anyone who has been one, dreams of discovering a secret world that flies under the radar of the adults around them. The whole family is looking forward to the next set of books.
Read full review

- Robert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-16-2004
  • Publisher: Listening Library