Regular price: $16.73

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $16.73

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Puffin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop, written and read by Clare Balding.
Charlie Bass is a horse-mad nine-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when her eccentric parents announce that they are going to buy a racehorse, Charlie is thrilled.
The horse they buy, Noble Warrior, looks the part: strong, fit and healthy. There's just one problem - he won't gallop. In fact he won't even trot round the field without his best friend, Percy, a naughty palomino pony, at his side. But Charlie is convinced that Noble Warrior has what it takes to be a champion - he just needs the right motivation....
A classic, funny animal story perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and My Family and Other Animals.
©2016 Clare Balding (P)2016 Penguin Audio Books
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Benny on 05-06-18

Lighthearted and satisfying.

Alright, I know, it is a childrens book; but you don't stop loving horses when you get to be an old lady!

I loved the characters and the whole theme of the story. A lovely escape from mundane everyday problems.

The narration by the author is an absolute bonus because she reads it as she intended it to be read - if that makes sense.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Esmeralda Maunder on 09-22-17

I had goose bumps following the race

what a great humbling story. loved it very much . couldn't put it down 😁

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Beth on 02-18-17

Brilliant

We were all gripped- from 4 to 70 years - made our car trip fly by. Thank you Clare Balding!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews