The Penderwicks in Spring : The Penderwicks

  • by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Narrated by Susan Denaker
  • Series: The Penderwicks
  • 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times best-seller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.
Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.
Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.


What the Critics Say

"The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome." (Publishers Weekly)
"...chock full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions... [t]he Penderwicks have a strong bench, so, happily, expect more." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

My kids and I loved it.

We all loved it. The storyline was great and it was well read. My kids are 7 and 9.
Read full review

- littlelighthous0114

Great Story!

Great story as well as great narrator! Its been fun! Sad to see the series end!
Read full review

- Amanda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-24-2015
  • Publisher: Listening Library