The Penderwicks : The Penderwicks

  • by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Narrated by Susan Denaker
  • Series: The Penderwicks
  • 6 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel's sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel's owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will, won't they? One thing's for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.
Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.


What the Critics Say

National Book Award Winner, Young People's Literature, 2005
"Adults who have been longing to find books for children that remind them of their own childhood favorites need look no further." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Happy Accident

I accidentally downloaded this book not realizing it was a children's book, but once I started listening, I was transported to magical summer childhood memories, and couldn't bring myself to stop! This would be a great book to engage kids ranging from 6 to 12-ish, or just listen to it on your own if you want to escape the real world of paying bills, doing dishes, or commuting to work!
Read full review

- Neily

My daughter LOVES this story!

What made the experience of listening to The Penderwicks the most enjoyable?

My daughter absolutely loves this story & has listened to it so many times I think she has some of it memorized.
She started listenting to it at about age 7 and at age 9 still enjoys it. My older daughters also enjoy the story.

Read full review

- kateH

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2006
  • Publisher: Listening Library