Regular price: $13.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It's a tough job, but somebody's got to do it. Guts, glory, danger, and sacrifice are all in a day's work for Hank the Cowdog, Head of Ranch Security. While investigating a murder on the ranch, Hank finds himself the number-one suspect. He resigns and heads for the hills to become an outlaw. A band of ruthless coyotes are happy to teach Hank the trade. Will Hank be forced to raid his own ranch? Hank sings "How Do I Do It?" and Rip and Snort sing "Me, Just a Worthless Coyote" in this hilarious adventure for the whole family.
Β©1983 John R. Erickson (P)1983 John R. Erickson
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Hank and his tales are hilarious....John R. Erickson's expressive, versatile, and energetic performance brings his own creation to life perfectly. Music and sound effects throughout complement this delightful tale, which will have listeners howling at Hank, the coyotes, and maybe the moon." ( AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kathryn Null on 04-08-15

Why so edventoris I don't know

I love T..... H .....E.. .......B .....O .......O .....K.i give it 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟.BY THE BOOK FOR KIDS and Parents. By

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By The Super-duper Amazing Silver Golem on 03-16-16

Hank: a timeless chuckle for families everywhere.

Hank the Cowdog is an old series of books. The first, "The Original Adventures of Hank the Cowdog" was first introduced to my family as an attempt on my father's part to make mini road trip in a minivan packed with bored children more tolerable. The result was that it was an instant staple for future road trips and remembered with fondness today even after most of my siblings now have children of their own.

I purchased and listened to this audiobook out of fond memories of the stories and the family trips associated with them, but was surprised at how well Hank the Cowdog held up. The setting, comical tone, the language, and narration are still great and timeless.

Hank, a dog that believes he is the head of security on a dusty ranch, has many ridiculous adventures with colorful characters while he attempts to protect the ranch in his own often misguided or misunderstood ways. In this story, he tries to solve a chicken "murder" and catch those who raided the chicken coop, only stumble into more and more giggle inducing trouble as he does so.

Like an old Disney movie, Hank's audience is everyone of all ages with laughs for anyone who listens. A mom and pop are just as likely to burst out in a chuckle as the kids or the grandparents. A great way to entertain a family on a long drive. I speak from experience.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
Β© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc