The Magician's Elephant

  • by Kate DiCamillo
  • Narrated by Juliet Stevenson
  • 2 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a fortuneteller’s tent appears in the market square of the city of Baltese, orphan Peter Augustus Duchene knows the questions that he needs to ask: Does his sister still live? And if so, how can he find her?
The fortuneteller’s mysterious answer (An elephant! An elephant will lead him there!) sets off a chain of events so remarkable, so impossible, that Peter can hardly dare to believe it.
But it is - all of it - true.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Yes, the Impossible!

While I agree with another reviewer who pointed out that the characters repeated themselves often, I chalk that up to this being, primarily, aimed at a younger audience. It's not just for them, however, because adults too can listen with a childlike innocence and enjoy this tale of the impossible.
In a cold and bleak winter, an orphan seizes hope and sets out find an elephant, find his sister, find the family he's been missing. Along the way are many, many broken souls, and even a blind dog becomes important in the scheme of things. There are many stories here, expertly touching on each other. It's delightful.
DiCamillo's rich prose is topped only by the astonishing narration by Juliet Stevenson (whom you may know from her works by Jane Austen). She perfectly characterizes each person, captures desperation, hopelessness, grief, wonder, and joy. Truly a remarkable performance.
This short book is definitely worth the listen, and you'll enjoy the wondrous answer to that most magical of questions: "What If?"
Read full review

- Gillian


What a lovely story of perseverance, and belief in the impossible. Kudos to Ms. Stevenson whose artful reading added her own bit of magic as we traveled together on this delightful journey. I can still hear the fortune teller's words in my mind week's after listening. Fabulous tale, excellent reading.
Read full review

- Lucinda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-21-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio