The Magic Thief: Home : The Magic Thief

  • by Sarah Prineas
  • Narrated by Greg Steinbruner
  • Series: The Magic Thief
  • 7 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Never look back!
Conn has come a long way since the days when he was a thief and a wizard's apprentice. He and the dragon Pip have saved the city of Wellmet from doom more than once, and now his best friend, Duchess Rowan, wants to make him the ducal magister, the city's most important wizard. But the older wizards don't trust Conn - especially now that their locus magicalicus stones are disappearing! Once a thief, always a thief, they think.
To solve the mystery of the disappearing stones, Conn goes back to his beginnings - gutterboy, chimney sweep, mudlark, and, yes, thief. It's the only way he can clear his name and find the culprit. But turning back is not easy, and old enemies don't disappear. Can Conn pull himself out of the gutter one more time?
Sarah Prineas magically transports you to an extraordinary world where cities run on living magic and a young thief can become a powerful wizard.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Terrific story, bought the whole series

Rather different than usual storyline, kept my interest throughout. Could hardly wait to see how it all turned out! Great characters.
Read full review

- Robert Berg

Wonderfully magical middle grade fantasy!

This is the fourth book in the Magic Thief series. This has been a wonderful middle grade fantasy series that is great for all ages. This book was just as wonderful as the previous books in the series. My whole family enjoyed it a lot.

My whole family listened to this together on audiobook on a road trip back from Yellowstone. This whole series has been incredibly well done on audiobook. The narrator does Conn’s voice spot on and is excellent at all the other character voices as well. I highly recommend listening to this on audiobook if you listen to audiobooks.

Duchess Rowan wants to promote Conn to ducal magister, however Conn objects. Conn feels that he has other problems to deal with and that sitting in meetings all day won’t help. The two magics that were joined in the last book Magic Thief: Found, are fighting each other and wrecking havoc in the city. To makes things even worse magicians’ locus stones are being stolen and Conn (as the only known person who can touch another magician’s locus stone and survive) is being blamed for the thefts.

In a desperate attempt to both fix the magic in the city and uncover the locus stone thief Conn ventures back to his thieving roots in the Twilight where his story started.

As with all of the other books in this series this was a wonderfully fun and magical read. It is even more fun because of the inclusion of Pip, Conn’s little dragon companion/locus stone.

Conn grows a lot in this book. Rowan is trying to make him ducal magister and give him a lot of responsibility, she believes in him and appreciates his help. Conn knows that he won’t be good at the type of position but is struggling to figure what he wants to do to help support the city of Wellmet.

Conn spends a lot of time figuring who he is and who he wants to be; is he a thief, a wizard or something else completely? He spends a lot of time in the Twilight as a thief again in this book and discovers that he just doesn’t make a good thief anymore...he is just more than that now. Conn is also learning that accepting help from others and working with others isn’t always a bad thing.

The plot is very well done too. Honestly everything is really well tied up in this book. I couldn’t find information on whether or not there would be another book in this series but I really really hope there is. I would love to see how some of the decisions Conn makes at the end of the book play out.

Overall a spectacular middle grade fantasy. This whole series has been so much fun to read; full of magic and adventure. It’s a great read for all ages, I enjoy these books just as much as my seven year old son does. I sincerely hope there are more books in this series!
Read full review

- Karissa Eckert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-16-2014
  • Publisher: HarperAudio