The Interrupted Tale

  • by Maryrose Wood
  • Narrated by Katherine Kellgren
  • 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Of especially naughty children it is sometimes said, "They must have been raised by wolves."
The Incorrigible children actually were.
Turning 16 is a bittersweet occasion for Miss Penelope Lumley: Her parents remain disappointingly absent, and her perfectly nice young playwright friend, Simon Harley-Dickinson, has not been heard from since he went to visit his ailing great-uncle Pudge in the old sailors' home in Brighton.
Luckily, an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females provides just the diversion Penelope needs.
Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead she finds her beloved school in an uproar. And when Penelope is asked by the Swanburne Academy board of trustees to demonstrate the academic progress of her three wolfish students so the board can judge the true worth of a Swanburne education, the future of her alma mater - and of her job as governess to the Incorrigibles - hangs in the balance.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This is a great series for middle school students

Would you consider the audio edition of The Interrupted Tale to be better than the print version?

Both are great

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Interrupted Tale?

The howling children and their insistence to refer to the founder of Swanburn Academy as the flounder. The two pink chickens were also great.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

My granddaughter and I listen to this book in the car and laughed and laughed often.

Any additional comments?

Start at the beginning of this series and enjoy a great time listening to the unwinding tale.

Read full review

- Karen H. Woodward

Love it!

Such a fun read!, Excellent narration, engaging storyline, adorable characters, exciting plot, educational tidbits. Love this series!
Read full review

- R. Comire

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-17-2013
  • Publisher: HarperAudio