The Great Brain : The Great Brain

  • by John D. Fitzgerald
  • Narrated by Ron McLarty
  • Series: The Great Brain
  • 4 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ten-year-old Tom D. Fitzgerald is known to everyone as The Great Brain. J.D., The Great Brain's sometimes confounded but always-admiring younger brother, tells his story. Such people as Mr. Standish, the mean schoolmaster, regret the day they came up against The Great Brain. But others, like the Jensen kids lost in Skeleton Cave, Basil, the Greek kid, or Andy, who has lost his leg and his friends, know that Tom's great brain never fails to find a way home.


What the Critics Say

"The strength of [Tom McLarty's] narration comes from his storyteller's ability to build each adventure with suspense, warmth, humor, youthful indignation, and the matter-of-fact tone that Tom maintains through each crisis." (AudioFile) "A lively, funny and not infrequently touching book written with flair." (Saturday Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Clever and thought-provoking

Great story, with lots of moral dilemmas that provoke discussion. Enjoyed the stories and hearing about what life was like in Utah in the early 1900s. Would definitely recommend for children of "all" ages, especially those with elementary school aged youngsters!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Great choice for adults, too!!

This is an amazingly darling book geared for the younger crowd, but highly entertaining for the adult,too. I've read the whole series to my boys when they were 6 and 9 years old and then again to my two little girls. We've giggled,cried and laughed ourselves silly through each "business adventure" Tom D. managed to come up with. Although Tom's little brother J.D. is the innocent teller of these tales, Tom is the instigator of much mischief and genious and...trouble!! The book is cute and adorable,innocent and so very informative of the late 1800's/early 1900's. It has a good moral to each story and keeps you coming back for more. Can't go wrong here! Hope to see the remaining six books on audio soon,too.
Read full review

- S. Nelson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-17-2003
  • Publisher: Listening Library