Regular price: $20.52

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.52

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Her name is Omakayas, or Little Frog, because her first step was a hop, and she lives on an island in Lake Superior. It is 1850 and the lives of the Ojibwe have returned to a familiar rhythm: they build their birchbark houses in the summer, go to the ricing camps in the fall to harvest and feast, and move to their cozy cedar log cabins near the town of LaPointe before the first snows. The satisfying routines of Omakayas's days are interrupted by a surprise visit from a group of desperate and mysterious people. From them, she learns that all their lives may drastically change. The chimookomanag, or white people, want Omakayas and her people to leave their island in Lake Superior and move farther west. Omakayas realizes that something so valuable, so important that she never knew she had it in the first place, is in danger: Her home. Her way of life.
In this captivating sequel to National Book Award nominee The Birchbark House, Louise Erdrich continues the story of Omakayas and her family.
©2005 Louise Erdrich (P)2005 HarperCollins Publishers, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Erdrich is a talented storyteller, mixing legend and myth with realistic narrative to create a world in which humans and spirits coexist." (The New York Times Book Review)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Steve S. on 05-05-17

loved this book

I can't wait for the other 2 in this series to come to audible. I'm ojibwe and I love hearing ojibwe stories.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Winona Nelson on 05-03-17

Beautiful book

An Ojibwe woman myself, this book and the previous book in the series, The Birchbark House, moves me and soaks to my heart as few other works have. If you have lived near the Great Lakes and especially Lake Superior, the descriptions of this beatiful country will take you right there. I could smell the melting snow in the forest or the green, cinnamon like smell of sweetgrass. I could hear the lapping of the lake, or the creaks and crashes of the ice melting and breaking. The Ojibwe words sprinkled throughout and the voice of the reader were very authentic. My only complaint is that these books were published when I was already grown - I wish I'd had them to read when I was a little Ojibwe girl myself.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc