The Four-Story Mistake : The Melendy Family

  • by Elizabeth Enright
  • Narrated by Pamela Dillman
  • Series: The Melendy Family
  • 4 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following up on the classic children's novel The Saturdays, Elizabeth Enright continues the engaging tale of the Melendy family (Mona, Rush, Randy, Oliver, Father, and Cuffy, the housekeeper) and their move from an old brownstone in New York City to a charming house in the country. Called the Four-Story Mistake for its odd look and confused architectural history, the house offers the Melendys wonderful quirks and surprises. And though they are disappointed about leaving the city, the four children soon become absorbed in the adventures of the country, discovering the many hidden attractions that the Four-Story Mistake has to offer.


What the Critics Say

"Enright has a quick eye for the unexpected, the amusing, and the beautiful in what might be just ordinary experiences." (The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful story and well narrated!

Absolutely one of my most favorite children's books of all time. I read it and re-read it so many times as a child. Now my kids have listened to it over and over. Thank goodness Pamela Dillman does a wonderful job narrating the story!
Read full review

- Paquita

absolutely the best ever!!!!!!

my kids and I love listening to all of Elizabeth enrights meledy family books. we listen every year on our vacation and now they listen daily. mrs. enright did an amazing job, I wish so much there were more.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-12-2004
  • Publisher: Listen & Live Audio, Inc.