The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict : Mysterious Benedict Society

  • by Trenton Lee Stewart
  • Narrated by Del Roy
  • Series: Mysterious Benedict Society
  • 13 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Before there was a Mysterious Benedict Society there was simply a Boy Named Nicholas Benedict.
Nine-year-old Nicholas Benedict has more problems than most children his age. Not only is he an orphan with an unfortunate nose, but also he has narcolepsy, a condition that gives him terrible nightmares and makes him fall asleep at the worst possible moments. Now he's sent to a new orphanage, where he encounters vicious bullies, selfish adults, strange circumstances - and a mystery that could change his life forever. Luckily, he has one important thing in his favor: He's a genius.
On his quest to solve the mystery, Nicholas finds enemies around every corner, but also friends in unexpected places - and discovers along the way that the greatest puzzle of all is himself.


What the Critics Say

"Gives readers a reason to fall in love with the series all over again...[with] adventures, danger, cleverness, dry wit, and good-hearted characters at the center of the action." (Booklist, Starred Review)
"Stewart fills in the back story on the narcoleptic genius founder of the Mysterious Benedict Society...[with]...admirable insight." (Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well worth the wait!!!

We're so glad to finally get the history on Mister Benedict! We missed Reny, Sticky, Kate & Constance, but you'll find out why Mister Benedict connected to them so much in the first three books. This is a great story and it stands alone - you don't have to read the earlier books to enjoy this one. The story features some great new characters. We can't wait for the next MBS story - whether it features the young Nicholas Benedict or Reny, Sticky, Kate & Constance!
Read full review

- Hannah

Awesome prequel

This was a wonderful story and performance. We were left wondering a few things we thought would be resolved in this prequel!
Read full review

- James Jarvis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2012
  • Publisher: Listening Library