The Dragon in the Sock Drawer : Dragon Keepers

  • by Kate Klimo
  • Narrated by Walter M. Mayes
  • Series: Dragon Keepers
  • 3 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ten-year-old cousins Jesse and Daisy have always wanted something magical to happen to them. So it's a dream come true when Jesse's newly found thunder egg hatches and a helpless, tiny (but very loud) baby dragon pops out. Jesse names the bright green dragon Emmy, short for Emerald.Soon the two kids are at Emmy's beck and call, trying to figure out what to feed her. An Internet search leads them to the library and then back to the Internet, where they find a strange Web site called Here Jesse and Daisy discover that the little dragon's hatching means that they are now Dragon Keepers, and not only do they have to feed Emmy but they also have to keep her safe from the villainous Saint George, who has kept himself alive over centuries by drinking dragons' blood.

In The Dragon in the Sock Drawer, the first in a new series, author Kate Klimo has cleverly imagined what it would be like if a couple of modern-day kids had to raise a dragon.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Kept our 3 year old happy on a long road trip

adored this book. The narrator was fun, and did a great job with voices to keep the littlest listeners engaged.
Read full review

- Kelly C

Good kids book!

What does Walter M. Mayes bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The narrator does a really good job with the voices. It might be a little over-the-top for an adult book, but my sister loved it.

Any additional comments?

My 8 yr old sister and I started listening to this together and after a while I wanted to do something else, so she demanded that she should be allowed to continue on her own. She found every excuse to put on her headphones and listen. There were a few trips to the store with her carrying the kindle around listening. It was great!

Read full review

- Rachael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-20-2009
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio