The Book of Three : The Prydain Chronicles

  • by Lloyd Alexander
  • Narrated by James Langton
  • Series: The Prydain Chronicles
  • 4 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Taran dreams of adventure, but nothing exciting ever happens to an Assistant Pig-Keeper, until his pig runs away. A chase through the woods leads Taran far from home and into great danger, for evil prowls the land of Prydain. With a collection of strange and wonderful friends whom he meets on his journey, Taran finds himself fighting so that good may triumph over evil, and so that his beloved home will not fall to a diabolical fiend.


What the Critics Say

"A very funny adventure tale set in an imaginary kingdom." (Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books)
"James Langton enables the listener to enter this fantastical world. Langton's presentation of each character has a depth that brings heightened compassion....Langton cares deeply about each character, and so will the listener!" (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful Fantasy Series

The Prydain Chronicles was one of my favorite fantasy series as a child. I decided to listen to it again largely out of nostalgia. The story incorporates many old Welsh myths to weave an exciting fantasy world that centers on a boy who dreams of accomplishing big deeds but learns both humanity and courage.

This book might be a bit scary for very young children but most ages 7 and up will enjoy the magic and adventure.

My only complaint is that after buying this, I discovered that there was an option to buy book 1 and book 2 in the series together as one book, so it ended up costing me an extra credit to get the entire series.
Read full review

- Ark1836

Important lessons learned for young ones

My 9 year old chose this book from her reading list this summer and to my surprise became one of our families favorite. This book teaches some very important lessons about growing up and learning to find ones own identity in a world that when young seems so large and exciting, but when the time comes to step outside ones comfort zone only makes us realize there is no place like home.
Read full review

- Brian

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-24-2004
  • Publisher: Listening Library