Regular price: $33.60

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $33.60

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The final book in the best-selling Books of Beginning trilogy that began with The Emerald Atlas, which the New York Times called "a new Narnia for the tween set."
The adventures of siblings Kate, Michael, and Emma come to a stunning conclusion when they must find the last Book of Beginning - the Book of Death - before the Dire Magnus does, for when all three books are united, their combined power will be unstoppable.
Soon Emma is on a journey to places both worldly and otherworldly, confronting terrifying monsters and ghosts, and what is darkest within herself. As the fabric of time begins to fray, she becomes the final piece of an extraordinary puzzle. Only if she can master the powers of this most dangerous book will she, Kate, and Michael be able to save the world from the dramatic, deadly final confrontation between magical and ordinary people that the Dire Magnus has in store.
©2015 John Stephens (P)2015 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Kenneth W Bertin on 08-31-15

Didn't finish the series well

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Yes, just to finish the trilogy, but it's not nearly as good as the first two.

If you’ve listened to books by John Stephens before, how does this one compare?

I don't think he knew how to finish the story.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Chelsea Davis on 06-04-16

Love is the point

I loved this trilogy so much. The scope of the stories was wide--saving the very fabric of the universe. I was caught up in the characters, who developed over time. The ending was beautiful and there were so many surprises on the way. Whilst full of magic, the story like all the best, is deeply human. If at points briefly philosophically didactic, it's entirely forgivable because the pace of the plot moves quickly and much of the characters' choices depend on what they know of the universe.

Jim Dale's narration is outstanding. As far as I'm concerned, he could read recipe ingredients and I would be captivated. His narration of the children's thoughts made me laugh aloud. There is so much humor woven into the text, and a less experienced voice actor might have missed it. As it was, this was an incredible listen.

A lot of stories with this kind of scope have difficulty wrapping themselves up. I was pleasantly surprised and moved to tears by the ending of this trilogy.

It reminded me of Harry Potter and the Lord of the Rings (in a good way), and was full of its own surprises.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc