The Black Cauldron : The Prydain Chronicles

  • by Lloyd Alexander
  • Narrated by James Langton
  • Series: The Prydain Chronicles
  • 5 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Peace reigns in Caer Dallben, where Taran works as Assistant Pig-Keeper, but evil threatens the rest of Prydain. The diabolical Arawn's army grows every day, and his terrible warriors never die. They are born in the Black Cauldron from the stolen bodies of slain soldiers. If evil is to be defeated, the cauldron must be destroyed. Taran volunteers to travel to Arawn's stronghold and assist in the destruction of the dreaded cauldron. With his faithful friends reassembled, Taran marches off to face great danger with a courageous heart.


What the Critics Say

"A wise and wondrous tale written in epic fashion." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of my favorite books of the series.

Little does Karen know that he will be meeting those three hags again, nor does he know how important they will be to him in the future. this book is full of suspense companionship trials and tribulations and so much more. I love this series & wish they would make it these into a movie.
Read full review

- Melissa

The Black Cauldron

What made the experience of listening to The Black Cauldron the most enjoyable?

Oh yes, after a long time away I am back again reading and listening (Audible) to Black Cauldron.

So finished again, must admit that I've forgotten parts of it, but all the better to enjoy again.

Just finished The Black Calderon wonderful balance of themes. Faith, friendship, courage, self worth and the balance of good and evil. Above all I think the lessons of discernment are done will.

What did you like best about this story?

The flowing theme of friendship and helping among friends.

Which scene was your favorite?

The encountering of the three witches.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

An evil brew!

Read full review

- Kindle Customer "Silverbill"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-25-2004
  • Publisher: Listening Library