The Big Six : Swallows and Amazons

  • by Arthur Ransome
  • Narrated by Alison Larkin
  • Series: Swallows and Amazons
  • 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this (more or less) sequel to the adventures of Coot Club, Arthur Ransome returns once more to his beloved Norfolk Broads where trouble is again brewing for Joe, Bill, and Pete, the three boatbuilders' sons who (more or less) live full-time aboard the Death and Glory, and the three Coots, Tom, Dorothea and Dick.The problem seems to be that boats are constantly being set adrift, and all the evidence points squarely at the three Death and Glories. In a clever bit of detective work, and with some help from a sophisticated photographic trap, the Big Six manage to exonerate themselves and catch the villains.Of course, this book, like all Ransome titles, is about a lot more than clever detective work; it has the smell of water and tarred rope, the sound of birds, and the plight of children left to their own devices and coping with everything from catching monster pike to trapping midnight eels.(All 12 novels in the Swallows and Amazons series have been brought to life in the U.S. in print by David R. Godine, Publisher.)


What the Critics Say

"There is plenty of excitement, a little danger, a quality of thinking, planning and fun which is delightful and stimulating." (Times Literary Supplement)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Parental conversation advised

Although I have enjoyed many aspects of this series, particularly the wonderful performance by Allison Larkin, I would advise parents to consider having a conversation with children about the evidence that colonialism and classism were deeply entrenched in the society of the author and his readers. In this particular book I was shocked and dismayed to hear the N-word in chapter 31. This meant that I had an important and unexpected conversation with my children that I might not have had until they were older.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-09-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios