The Best Man

  • by Richard Peck
  • Narrated by Michael Crouch
  • 4 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.
Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth - Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact the first male teacher in the history of the school.
But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.
In minutes that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

More

What the Critics Say

"Narrator Michael Crouch is a natural with kid voices.... Listeners will relate, whether they're all grown up or still growing." (AudioFile)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-20-2016
  • Publisher: Listening Library